

2023 ELECTION

Every three years, electors in the Taranaki Electricity Trust district elect six trustees:

- three trustees from Ward A; and
- three trustees from Ward B

An election to fill these vacancies will occur by postal vote on Friday 16 June 2023, using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system.

NOMINATIONS

Nominations for the vacancies open on Friday 24 March 2023 and close at noon, Friday 21 April 2023.

Under Rule 2.8 of the Deed of Trust, candidates for the Taranaki Electricity Trust election cannot be:

- (a) a bankrupt who has not obtained a final order of discharge or whose order of discharge has been suspended for a term not yet expired, or is subject to a condition not yet fulfilled;
- (b) a person who has been convicted of any offence punishable by a term of imprisonment of two (2) or more years;
- (c) a person who has been convicted of any offence punishable by imprisonment for a term of not less than two (2) years and has been sentenced to imprisonment for that offence;
- (d) a person to whom an order made under section 383 of the Companies Act 1993 applies;
- (e) a person who has a mental disorder within the meaning of the Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992, or its subsequent amendment Acts;
- (f) a person who is not an elector for the purposes of the Electoral Act 1993;
- (g) a person who is not an Elector provided however it is agreed that the provisions of this paragraph (g) did not and do not apply to the signatories to the original Deed during their first term of office or to the signatories of the original Deed who were re-elected at the 1993 election during the first term of such re-election.

Each candidate, together with two nominees, must be on the electoral roll in the ward for which the candidate is standing for election.

Nomination forms are available by:

- Phoning 0800 922 822; or
- Emailing info@electionservices.co.nz; or
- Accessing www.taranakielectricitytrust.co.nz



FACT SHEET Taranaki Electricity Trust

Election of Trustees

16 JUNE 2023

ELECTORAL ROLL

Those eligible to vote at this election are residential electors within the Taranaki Electricity Trust district as at the close of the roll at 12pm, Friday 21 April 2023.

Ward A of the Taranaki Electricity Trust district incorporates part of the New Plymouth District Council in the Trust area.

Ward B of the Taranaki Electricity Trust district incorporates parts of the Stratford and South Taranaki District Councils in the Trust area (see map of Trust district over page).

The preliminary electoral roll will be available for public inspection at the below locations:

- Taranaki Electricity Trust Office, 84 Rata Street, Inglewood;
- New Plymouth District Council, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth;
- Waitara Library and Service Centre, 15 Queen Street, Waitara;
- Urenui Library, Takiroa Street, Urenui;
- Stratford District Council, Administration Building, 61-63 Miranda Street, Stratford;
- Eltham LibraryPlus, King Edward Street, Eltham;
- Kaponga LibraryPlus, 46 Victoria Street, Kaponga.

To check whether you are included on the electoral roll, please visit one of the above locations or phone the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

VOTING PERIOD

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 12 May 2023.

Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer by either (i) using the freepost envelope included in their voting pack, or (ii) hand delivering it to a ballot box at Taranaki Electricity Trust office, 84 Rata Street, Inglewood during normal business hours. To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by 12 noon Friday 16 June 2023. The preliminary result will be known later that day.

CONTACT US

For more information regarding the Trust, including a copy of the Deed of Trust, please refer to www.taranakielectricitytrust.co.nz. For any further information regarding this election of trustees to the Taranaki Electricity Trust, please contact the electoral office:



// Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

Election Services, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland 1010 Taranaki Electricity Trust, c/- Independent Election Services, PO Box 5135, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142 Email: info@electionservices.co.nz Phone: (09) 973 5212 or 0800 922 822

