

2020 ELECTION

Every three years, electors in the Taranaki Electricity Trust district elect six trustees:

- three trustees from Ward A; and
- three trustees from Ward B

An election to fill these vacancies will occur by postal vote on Friday 12 June 2020.

NOMINATIONS

Nominations for the vacancies open on Friday 27 March 2020 and close at noon, Friday 24 April 2020.

Under Rule 2.8 of the Deed of Trust, candidates for the Taranaki Electricity Trust election cannot be:

- (a) a bankrupt who has not obtained a final order of discharge or whose order of discharge has been suspended for a term not yet expired, or is subject to a condition not yet fulfilled;
- (b) a person who has been convicted of any offence punishable by a term of imprisonment of two (2) or more years;
- (c) a person who has been convicted of any offence punishable by imprisonment for a term of not less than two (2) years and has been sentenced to imprisonment for that offence;
- (d) a person to whom an order made under section 383 of the Companies Act 1993 applies;
- (e) a person who has a mental disorder within the meaning of the Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992, or its subsequent amendment Acts;
- (f) a person who is not an elector for the purposes of the Electoral Act 1993;
- (g) a person who is not an Elector provided however it is agreed that the provisions of this paragraph (g) did not and do not apply to the signatories to the original Deed during their first term of office or to the signatories of the original Deed who were re-elected at the 1993 election during the first term of such re-election.

FACT SHEET Taranaki Electricity Trust

Election of Trustees

12 JUNE 2020

Each candidate, together with two nominees, must be on the electoral roll in the ward for which the candidate is standing for election.

Nomination forms are available from the electoral officer by phoning 0800 922 822 or to download from www.taranakielectricitytrust.co.nz

ELECTORAL ROLL

Those eligible to vote at this election are residential electors within the Taranaki Electricity Trust district as at the close of the roll at 5pm, Friday 24 April 2020.

Ward A of the Taranaki Electricity Trust district incorporates that part of the New Plymouth District Council in the Trust area.

Ward B of the Taranaki Electricity Trust district incorporates those parts of the Stratford and South Taranaki District Councils in the Trust area (see map of Trust district over page).

To check whether you are included on the electoral roll, please phone the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

VOTING PERIOD

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 15 May 2020.

Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the freepost envelope included in their voting pack. To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by 12 noon Friday 12 June 2020. The preliminary result will be known later that day.

CONTACT US

For more information regarding the Trust, including a copy of the Deed of Trust, please refer to www.taranakielectricitytrust.co.nz.

For any further information regarding this election of trustees to the Taranaki Electricity Trust, please contact the electoral office:



// Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

Election Services, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland 1010 Taranaki Electricity Trust, c/- Independent Election Services, PO Box 5135, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142 Email: info@electionservices.co.nz Phone: 0800 922 822



